red lights

Concert Livewire
concert reviews basement tapescd reviews interviewsfeatures

McBride flawlessly spans the breadth of her career

Martina McBride
The Fox Theatre
Tucson, AZ
July 6, 2017
Martina McBride Martina McBride Martina McBride

Review and photos by Frances Sealy

Martina McBride sold out the Fox Theatre with adoring fans that sang and cheered for her throughout the night. The first 20 years of her career have flown fly by. That career has been good for Ms. McBride who has 20 top-ten hits and six number one songs. She has been awarded 14 gold records and nine platinum records, selling over 18 million albums all together. And that only begins to touch the surface of her many accomplishments.

The stage was set with an elaborate lighting setup and a large video screen in the background. There was a silhouetted curtain going across the front of the stage that fell to the floor as Ms. McBride made her entrance. She gave a warm, welcoming greeting as she delivered a statement that the mission of the show and tour was to share positivity and love.

Martina released a new album, Reckless, in April this year. "It Ain't Pretty," "Diamond," "We'll Pick Up Where We Left Off," and "Reckless" were the songs performed from the new album. McBride introduced the song "Diamond" explaining that the song was about it being okay not to be perfect. "It Ain't Pretty," is a Lady Antebellum cover song, which McBride played piano. "Reckless" is probably the roudiest track from the album.

Martina reached back to 'old country music with her covers of Loretta Lynn's "You Ain't Woman Enough" and Lynn Anderson's "Rose Garden." However, the highlights of the show were the women's anthems "Independence Day," "This One's For the Girls," and "A Broken Wing." The crowd was wild at this point in the show and Martina was feeling the love. The more love she felt, the more love she gave the fans.

A shout out to her veteran band: Harry Smith on acoustic guitar, Greg Harrington on drums, Glen Snow on bass guitar, Wayne Dahl on pedal steel guitar, musical director, Jim Medlin on keyboards, and Greg Foresman on lead guitar. All were master musicians. They were the perfect compliment to Ms. McBride's performance.

This show was a home run from start to finish. The encore song in the set was the Beatles cover of "All You Need Is Love." That seemed to summarize the show completely.
Set List:
1. Love's the Only House
2. My Baby Loves Me
3. Wild Angels
4. Cry on the Shoulder of the Road
5. Diamond
6. It Ain't Pretty
7. When God-Fearin' Women Get the Blues
8. I'm Gonna Love You Through It
9. Anyway
10. In My Daughter's Eyes
11. Concrete Angel
12. Reckless
13. You Ain't Woman Enough (To Take My Man) (Loretta Lynn cover)
14. (I Never Promised You A) Rose Garden (Lynn Anderson cover)
15. Blessed
16. This One's For The Girls
17. A Broken Wing
18. Independence Day

19. All You Need Is Love (The Beatles cover)
20. We'll Pick Up Where We Left Off

Related articles:

Martina McBride (Country Thunder 2011) - Festival review - Twin Lakes, WI July 2011
Martina McBride - Concert review - Rosemont, IL January 2006
Martina McBride (Country Thunder 2007) - Festival review - Twin Lakes, WI July 2006
Martina McBride (Country Thunder 2003) - Festival review - Twin Lakes, WI July 2003

Martina McBride Martina McBride
Martina McBride

Return to Reviews
Return to Livewire

Copyright ©™; All Rights Reserved